The Dentists are in the House

A new title is always exciting to work with, and if its a new title from Studio khara, the powerhouse that produces the new Evangelion rebuild series, I don’t think I need to impress upon you just how much more special the occasion is.

A few years ago, I was lucky enough to participate in Japan Anima(tor) Expo, an experimental short film series made possible by the partnership between khara and DWANGO. I provided translations and subtitles to about over 1/2 of the episodes that required subtitles. (Some episodes where just songs or “making of” type episodes that didn’t have any English subtitles.) I just looked back at the list and I did episodes 1, 2, 4, 11, 12, 14, 16, 19, 21, 22, 24, 25, 30, 32, 34, and Extra, which was the Patlabor short.

The first episode was the The Dragon Dentist. It was a unique and bold title. It tool me some time to figure out different things, since this was so new and original.

And here I am, two and a half years later, coming back to this wonderful gem.

I supervised the English dub version of Dragon Dentist that will air on March 18th and 19th of 2017. Anyone overseas should be able to watch it, or so I have been told.

https://www3.nhk.or.jp/…/…/special/episode/201703180810.html
http://www.nhk.or.jp/anime/ryu/en/index.html

I supervised the acting, edited the dialog and verified various aspects of this project. I would like to extend my deepest appreciation for all the staff and crew that made this project possible.

I talked to Mr. Tsurumaki and Mr. Maijo about this title to get a better feel for how the translation should be conducted, and therefore I can say with some confidence in stating that this English dub captures the spirit and direction of the original title to the best of my abilities.

I chose the terms carefully, trying my best to balance the needs of making the title accessible to wider audiences, while at the same time maintaining the nuances of the original. I personally oversaw the acting of the primarily voice talent and tried my best to steer them toward performances that I felt best matches the expectations of the original creators.

We invested a lot of effort in this project, so hopefully the response will be strong. Please remember that it is very expensive to do something like this and if the response is weak, that will make it all the more difficult to put together international releases within Japan.
I think the best thing to do is to respond to the following NHK twitter account if you want your voice to be heard.
https://twitter.com/nhk_anime100

They won’t be able to respond in English most of the time, but they would still appreciate to hear from everyone about the project. Please let them know what you think!

This entry was posted in news, translation and intercultural issues. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to The Dentists are in the House

  1. Rensie says:

    Watched this through CR a week ago and it was a decent little drama anime with a bittersweet ending, but i was not impressed on the overall performance even is character design and background were really amazing.
    Dunno about english dub because i like only watching anime in the original language with english subtitles and it was a very good adaption.
    Maybe i’m a bit biased and spoiled because i watched so much anime (both regularl and eroge) these latest years that everything appear to be bland and deja-vu, or maybe it have to do with the last attack against free-speech in anime and manga that have watering down the quality and the non politically, ero and gore content that make anime a memorable media free from the hypocrisy and double standards of western entertainment.
    Dunno, but the coming spring anime season appear to be very good and it give me hope again.

While I may not be able to respond to all comments, I always welcome feedback. Thank you.

