Comic Market, Day Three – Final Battle of 2010

Well here we are.

The book is ready and it’ll be at the Comic Market. We hauled in a fair number of copies, so we’ll see how long we’ll manage.

Two new books on Bill 156 (non-manga factual reporting type non-fiction books) have been put on offer at the Comic Market and they sold very well. I’ve already seen about half a dozen doujinshis making fun of Bill 156.

And while we’ll go out in a bang in 2010, 2011 promises to be pretty intense already.

I’ve been preparing notes on developments on Bill 156 and my translation of articles in the Nogami book will follow quickly.

Many have asked how can the fans overseas help. We may be the frontline, but we can’t fight alone. Like any soldier, we need food and arms to keep fighting, and an occasional letter or two goes a long way toward keeping or morale high.

Even if regulations stamp down on us, we’ll keep creating stuff as long as people are willing to buy our stuff. That’s the number one thing that keeps us going. Knowing that we are in demand will keep our hearts warm on the coldest days and strongest downpours.

I know you are out there. I try my best to let people over here know you are out there.

But if you have the chance, let others know yourselves. Let them know you’ve bought something from them. That you want them to keep on going.

There are other things that are important as well, but when it comes to it, making sure the guys and gals out here are fed and feel appreciated is pretty damn important.

I’ll do what I can do. Think about what you might be able to do.

We’re going-in. Wish us luck.

This entry was posted in censorship, doujinshi, events, everyday life, public morality and media. Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to Comic Market, Day Three – Final Battle of 2010

  1. drmchsr0 says:

    Hai Dan :3

    I think I can put you in touch with a guy who sells doujins in the US, though I dunno if he wants to. I’ll reply here when I finally contact him.

  2. Gilles Poitras says:

    Just a quick note of thanks for your hard work.

    Also I’ll try to get the Cartoon Art Museum gift shop in San Francisco to consider stocking your Bill 156 dojinshi. I advise them on anime and manga and they are supporters of the Comic Book Legal Defense Fund so they probably will be up to it.

  3. Erica says:

    Gilles, that’s an brilliant idea!

    I make a point of trying to tell manga artists when I have purchased books by them, but I think I’ll step that up. Dan, thanks for your hard work and please do tell the mangaka that there are those of us who support them with out hearts and wallets even halfway across the world.

  4. Michael Tanzer says:

    Good luck Dan and a happy new year from Canada by me, Michael!!!

  5. Nemo_N says:

    Akiba Blog has a piece on your doujinshi:

    http://blog.livedoor.jp/geek/archives/51144341.html

  6. avery says:

    Picked up your doujin at Comic ZIN, it was hard to hold in my laughter when I read it at a maid cafe. Great translation.

  7. Ryan Ashlight says:

    While it’s hard to put into words how one feels about one’s beloved art coming under attack like this, I take comfort in knowing that there are people like you fighting for us out there.

    As a dedicated fan of anime and manga and as one who also believes as you do, I hope you’ll do your best to carry the spirit of all those who can’t be there with you. Never give up. Never give in. Never surrender.

    We’ll continue to give you all the support that we can. So stay strong, and let’s show them all just who the hell they think they’re messing with.

  8. BlueDiva says:

    Is the English version of “Monkey Business – Counterattack on Bill 156, Doujin Style”
    available yet?

  9. elliscg says:

    Good luck Dan =P, thx for help for stop this law….
    Soon as i can, i gonna be buying your doujinshi

  10. Twisted Edge says:

    Hello Dan,

    I truly appreciate your blog keeping us posted about the developments on bill 156. I think it a crime to put a filter, nay, a block on the creativity of Japanese artists. We here in Holland read tons of manga. I have a small bookcase full, but I know those who fill a room with various works. We love, adore, eat, sleep and breathe the stuff. For ‘t is the stuff of dreams.

    I hope you can keep on fighting, for it is the good fight you are fighting in. Japan needs to know that they are messing with their most valuable asset next to technology. I leave you with my favourite quote from Henry VIII±

    “We few, we happy few, we band of brothers.
    For he to-day that sheds his blood with me
    Shall be my brother; be he ne’er so vile,
    This day shall gentle his condition;
    And gentlemen in England now a-bed
    Shall think themselves accurs’d they were not here,
    And hold their manhoods cheap whiles any speaks
    That fought with us upon Saint Crispin’s day.”

    In short: Give ’em hell!

  11. Ferral Grove says:

    Aye keep up the fight, I really hope something will change and repel this law or make sure it has restrictions but I fear the worst. I feel so powerless living all the way over here in Sweden so all I can do is cheer you on and send a polite email to koe@metro.tokyo.jp and ask them to stop destroying what I love. Good luck out there!

While I may not be able to respond to all comments, I always welcome feedback. Thank you.

